The Fund for LREI

In 1921, Elisabeth Irwin founded the Little Red School House as a progressive community with a spirit of curiosity, creativity and challenge. During the Depression, the New York City Board of Education could not afford to keep the school open. Parents stepped in and pledged their own resources, establishing the Little Red School House as a vibrant independent school. For more than 90 years, LREI has remained faithful to the spirit of both its founder and those parents who generously gave their time, talent and assets to make our a school an educational leader. Each year, over 800 LREI community members —parents, trustees, alumni, alumni parents, grandparents, faculty, staff and friends— make gifts to The Fund for LREI.

LREI relies on The Fund for LREI to support the costs of offering a remarkable educational experience. The Four Cs, defined by LREI's stellar faculty, inform our work with all students, pre K-12. These four attributes develop along with our students as they move through the school and represent all that we hope for them as future LREI alumni. By supporting The Fund for LREI, you are supporting the Four Cs in all three divisions. Here are just a few examples of the Four Cs in action at LREI:

The Four Cs in Action

Last year, The Fund for LREI raised $1,485,581. Our goal for the upcoming year is $1.285M. Click HERE to donate.

Volunteer With Us

Volunteers are crucial to the success of The Fund for LREI. They help educate our community on the importance of The Fund for LREI, plan events and help with mailings.

If you would like to join our wonderful group of volunteers, please contact our Director of Annual Giving, Ryann Imperioli at or 212-477-5316 ext. 232.


The Elisabeth Irwin Society: $50,000 or more
The Randolph B. Smith Society: $25,000 - $49,999
The Director’s Circle: $10,000 - $24,999
LREI Patron: $5,000 - $9,999
Progressive Partner: $2,500 - $4,999
Centennial Donor: $2,021 - $2,499
LREI Knight*: $1,750 - $2,020
LREI Friend: $500 - $1,749
Contributor: Up to $499

* Alumni who graduated within the last ten years and give $100 or more will be recognized at this level. 

Current Volunteers:

Angie Vieira Barocas – Co-Chair
Joyce Doyle – Co-Chair
Charlie Homet – Co-Chair
Margaret Andrews
Jane Belton
Ken Cornick `90
Robert Davidson
Dawn Eig
Emma Fine
Chris Fleming
Laurie Gilmore
Jim Harris
Amado Hernandez
Chatisha Hosten
Julia Kelly
Diane Kidder
Tamar Gargle Krakowiak `88
Marc Mehl
Tim Merjos `80
Chakshu Patel
Kasey Picayo
Sue Portelli
Halee Sage
David Schab
Eve Stuart
Regina Trumbull
Jennifer Walters
Allison Weinger
Camille Zamora
Amy Ziebarth
Amy Zimmerman

2016-2017 Annual Report

Questions? Comments?

Contact the Office of Advancement:

L.J. Mitchell, Director of Advancement: 
212-477-5316 ext. 236,

Ryann Imperioli, Director of Annual Giving:

212-477-5315 ext. 232,

Or, stop by! (We're on the lower level of the Sixth Avenue building, next to the wood shop).